Why I’m Going to Stop Looking for “All of the Facts”

Making politics more a part of my life by letting self-doubt and perfectionism go!

“Sign this petition to keep social energy in Las Vegas,” a man told my sister and me.

I turned to him. Right away I knew that no matter what he said, I wouldn’t be signing the petition – at least not until I researched the issue myself. After all, my mind was telling me he was going to twist the issue to make his side look like a hero. I mean come on, how could not signing one petition get rid of the entire clean energy economy in Las Vegas.

“Can you please tell me more?” I asked.

He goes on explaining how if a new bill is passed, it would be harder for social energy companies to survive in Las Vegas. So far, so good. Until he slips that his job might be in jeopardy if the bill passes.

I thought to myself, “That is a conflict of interest thing going on. Anything he says can’t be trusted. I’m going to get all the facts and make my decision.”

My Decision

You know how you have a bunch of stuff on your to-do list, and you put other things on the back-burner until it’s too late. Well, I only spent a little bit of time researching the issue. I kept telling myself that I didn’t have enough information to make a decision. Eventually, it was too late to sign the petition. By stalling, I had made my decision unintentionally. I kept reassuring myself that it was ok.

It wasn’t. I want to be right. I want to make the best decision when it comes to politics since it affects the lives of people I care about and my own life. Lastly, I didn’t want to make a decision based on me being too scared to make a decision. I wouldn’t let analysis paralysis get in my way!

The Change

There are quite a few things I’m doing to learn more about politics and get involve, but that’s a post for another day. For now, I’m standing up to my need to overthink every issue to the point where I don’t make a decision in time. Of course, I’m going to spend time gathering the facts, but I’m going to finally admit something to myself: I’ll do my best to find the facts, but a decision will be made.

name_amber

My Blog | Twitter | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

